Rebellious Attitude…Artistic State of Mind

The Edge of Immortality

Photography is great for capturing images of what we looked like at some particular point in time. But, for me, the real power of photography lies in the ability to capture who we are and how we relate to the world around us.

Some of my favorite photos come from portrait sessions of related pairs (mother-daughter, father-son, siblings, husband-wife, etc). Once the “Hawthorne Effect” evaporates, the electricity of human connection takes command of the scene. This is the picture I want to capture because, in my own life, this is what I want most to remember. Our looks change. Our relationships are what make us immortal.

These are some of my favorite images from a shoot with Mary-Elise and her daughter. I was honored to have the opportunity to explore the beauty of their special relationship.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I have.

Jill

Leave a Reply

