Rebellious Attitude…Artistic State of Mind

Event Photographer-Greensboro, NC-Evolving into a Roller Girl with Greensboro Roller Derby

Many of you know I have finally taken the bull by the horns. I have joined the Greensboro Roller Derby. (GSORD) Since last March I have been intrigued by this group of women and the culture of Roller Derby. It took me a year to make the decision to become one. You may remember my first blog about watching them practice last year.

Since announcing this to friends and family I have come across mixed reactions. Some are supportive and excited, while others think I have lost my mind. Please note: The latter only makes me even more committed to doing this!

I have also come across some interesting questions. Let me share a few:

Question: Will you be skating in the upcoming bout on March 6th?

Answer: No, I have to learn some basic to advanced skating skills and pass an assessment in/around June before I will be allowed to join a team on the GSORD. Then I may or may not be invited to join one of the teams. Unfortunately, some girls may spend a very long time working to get onto a team. The teams within the GSORD are the Battleground Betties, Elm Street Nightmares, Gate City Roller Girls, and The Mad Dollies.

Question: Do you have a Roller Derby name yet?

Answer: I am working on coming up with a name. Names for Roller Derby are registered in a National Registry, so it is a good idea to wait until after we pass assessments and are on a team roster before we choose a name. The name is submitted to a National Board for approval. If it is too much like a name within the registry it will not be approved. I will wait patiently and keep a list of names I want to myself to prevent it from being taken when I am ready to submit my name.  When I do come up with a name it will be catchy, creative, and fit my personality. If any of you want to email me some ideas of names, I would love it!! I am always open to suggestions!!!

Question: Why do Roller Girls dress the way they do?

Answer: It is a part of the unique culture of Derby.  I am planning on doing a blog a month on my experiences as Fresh Meat (new member on the team) and I will address this question specifically in a later blog!

Question: When can I see your team skate?

Answer: March 6th is GSORD’s season opener and the Gate City Roller Girls will be up against a team from South Carolina (URGE). The bout will start at 6:30 (but you may want to get there earlier, sometimes the lines are very long and you may want to get tickets online here. Your ticket purchase will get you into the after party benefitting Often Awesome!

I won’t be skating. I will be photographing the bout for a project Frayed Edge is developing with GSORD.  I WILL be wearing my GSORD Fresh Meat shirt and derby attire proudly!

Below, I have included  information on Sunday’s bout:

I Hope to see you there!

Jill

4 responses

  1. Kim!! It will be great to have you on the team! I am seriously excited about it! Holler at me tomorrow!!

    March 5, 2011 at 3:25 pm

  2. Kim Walker

    Hey Jill! I can’t wait to see the match Sunday night! I am so excited that Greensboro has a Roller Derby team!!!!! Hopefully, I’ll be able to try out for the team in July! See you tomorrow!

    March 5, 2011 at 2:16 pm

  3. Susie (Miller Lightnin) This has made my day!!! I want to print this comment and wear it on the back of my Fresh Meat shirt tomorrow night!! Thank you!!!

    March 5, 2011 at 11:11 am

  4. Susie

    Jill,
    You are awesome! I can’t wait to skate with you soon. You are such a natural derby woman, and you are going to be a valuable asset to our team.
    XOXO Miller Lightnin

    March 5, 2011 at 10:52 am

Leave a Reply

