Rebellious Attitude…Artistic State of Mind

Taylor’s “Alice In Wonderland” Shoot-Salem College-Portrait Photographer

I met Taylor when she was a bridesmaid in a wedding Frayed Edge photographed a couple of years ago. In one of the pics from that blog, you may recognize her as one of the “jumping” bridesmaids.  I remember when I first met her. She seemed so poised, graceful, and fun.  So, when she contacted us to set up a conceptual shoot to highlight her dance skills, I was ecstatic.

Taylor wanted her shoot to conceptualize her favorite childhood book, Alice in Wonderland.  To be true to the theme, we both agreed Salem College was the perfect setting with its old world  charm and feel. We met one evening just before sunset and shot until dark.

To get to know her better, I had asked Taylor to share how she became interested in dance and to share a humorous experience she has had while dancing. Here’s what she shared. (She is so darn adorable, I had to share it here!)

“I got a note from my “creative movement” teacher in kindergarten asking my mom if I could come to a dance class at her studio.  Since then I’ve taken Ballet, Jazz, Tap, and Acrobatics.  When I was 13, I decided I wanted to study Classical Ballet and I transferred studios. Since then I have starred in many ballets such as “The Nutcracker”, “Cats”, “Pirates of Tortuga” and “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”.  When I was 15 I started studying intensively with the Atlanta Ballet.  Currently, I am dancing with Salem College Dance Company as a contemporary dancer. Last Fall, I was offered to dance the role of the Sugar Plum Fairy from “The Nutcracker” with The Dance Center of Greensboro“The Nutcracker” is my favorite ballet.  I am also taking Ballet and Broadway Jazz with DCG.”

“I think one of my personal funny stories would have to be when I starred in “Pirates of Tortuga”.  I played a volatile pirate named Carmen who was “sailing the seas” to find my Pirate boyfriend who left me for a spoiled rich girl.  In one of the scenes, I meet my “boyfriend” on an island and we have a sword fight (it wasn’t really a fight, it was just a dance with swords).  Well on opening night, the scene comes up and my dance partner and I do the fight scene.  I didn’t realize how in character I was until I went down to hit my dance partners sword and his sword breaks clear in half.  There we stood on stage with a broken sword glaring at each other until finally my dance teacher screamed “DO SOMETHING!!!” so I started making up a dance and my dance partner followed.  It actually worked out and no one realized what had happened.”

Taylor ‘s Alice costume was just perfect and I loved, loved, loved her Queen of Hearts look. It was so hard to pick out just a few favorites from her session, so I’m going to go crazy here.

Enjoy!

Jill

Leave a Reply

